HBO Max Renews ‘Tokyo Vice’ For Season 2

HBO Max’s hit original drama series Tokyo Vice has been renewed for Season Two and the fans of the series will be waiting for it to drop on the streamer impatiently.

Tokyo Vice is loosely based on American journalist Jake Adelstein‘s non-fiction a first-hand memoir of the Tokyo Metropolitan Police beat. The creator of the HBO Max series JT Rogers said this about the renewal news:

“Writing and then making the first season of Tokyo Vice with this remarkable group of artists was a matchless experience. So I’m over the moon that we get to keep going. I can’t wait to get back to work in Tokyo with our brilliant cast and crew. Stay tuned: there are twists and turns in the tale to come!”

The crime drama series was shot in Tokyo and follows Jake Adelstein (Ansel Elgort), as he joins a prestige Japanese newspaper and then he descents into the criminal neon underbelly of Tokyo. The series has a very dark tone and it feels very real yet impossible to believe.

Sarah Aubrey, the Head of Original Content at HBO Max said this about the renewal: “We could not be more excited to bring the passionate fans of the show another season to continue this intriguing and suspenseful crime story set in one of the most vibrant and beautiful cities in the world.”

Joe Hipps from Endeavor Content said this about renewal: “Fans around the world have shown up for this authentic and propulsive story about the underbelly of Tokyo and the Yakuza. JT, Alan, John and the rest of the team will expand on the world they built to deliver a staggering Season 2!

We look forward to collaborating on the second season with our incredible partners at HBO Max and WOWOW.”  The cast of the series stars Elgort as Adelstein, Ken Watanabe as Hiroto Katagiri, Rachel Keller as Samantha, Shô Kasamatsu as Sato, Ella Rumpf as Polina, Rinko Kikuchi as Eimi, Shun Sugata as Ishida, and Takaki Uda as Trendy.

The pilot of the series was directed by Michael Mann who also served as an executive producer on the series alongside Alan Poul, Adelstein, Elgort, Emily Gerson Saines, Brad Kane, Watanabe, John Lesher, Destin Daniel Cretton, Kayo Washio, and John Lesher.

Read More Stories